New Orchid Glossary Page!

You know when you start learning about a new hobby or interest, there are more experienced people that use specific terms or phrases that you have no idea about? Well, that has happened several times to me with this orchid hobby, and the only way I can get my head around all these new words is to write them down. To that end, I have created a new page on this blog – a Glossary page!

Most people will understand the basic terms when they start this hobby – roots, stems, flowers – the same terms used with any other plant. It’s when you get into things like cultivation, nutrients, or the complexities of watering – that’s when it starts to get challenging. New words and concepts quickly saturate the brain, and you become uncertain about whether you have taken it all in. It’s only months later you realise you did take the information on board, when someone asks you a question relating to the topic you Googled all that time ago.

So, the Glossary page will be added to when a new words finds its way to me, and I’ll try and keep the definitions as simple and jargon free as possible. When I learn about a new term, I’ll try and make a blog post to expand on it a little more.

If you have any suggestions or questions about this page, feel free to post a comment or send me a message via my contact page.

Happy growing!

Clare

 

Leave a Reply

