Orchids in Bloom: May 2017

As the growing season begins to get underway for most orchids, it’s helpful to look back at their progression, in particular the blooms they produce. Each month, I will look back at what orchids have bloomed for me as a way to help me record their progress.

phal3

These posts will be entitled “Orchids in Bloom” and you’ll find a new category pop up so at the end of the year, you can look back at all the orchids that bloomed this year. What I am also hoping these posts will achieve is that you will get some joy out of seeing the beautiful flowers on these wonderful plants.

So, here we go with the first one! There doesn’t appear to be many this month; just two Phalaenopsis orchids, but one has taken two years to re-bloom! Well worth the wait I think.

This white mini Phalaenopsis was gifted to me by a friend a few years ago. I have not managed to find an ID for it online, but this is hardly surprising when you think how many varieties of Phalaenopsis there are.

The pink mini Phalaenopsis (also no ID) was dehydrated when it came to me, but after a month or two, it has recovered and rewarded me with several blooms.

There isn’t much else in bloom this month, but fingers crossed for new flowers next month. I hope you enjoy the photographs!

Happy growing.

Clare

Leave a Reply

